European Champions Cup - About

European Champions Cup

The European Rugby Champions Cup formally the Heineken Cup, is the top yearly Rugby Union tournament organised by the EPCR. The Champions Cup is played for exclusively by the professional clubs whose national teams take part in the RBS Six Nations competition.

Top flight teams from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France and Italy play in the Champions Cup. The teams in this competition are from the Aviva Premiership, France Top 14 and Europe’s Pro12. 20 teams will qualify with six from the Premiership, six from the Top 14 and the remaining teams based on league positions from Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.