European Challenge Cup - About

The European Rugby Challenge Cup is the cup played for by the teams that don’t make the Champions Cup. Similar in style and form to the Champions Cup, the Challenge Cup is played for exclusively by the professional clubs whose national teams take part in the RBS Six Nations competition.

Teams from England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, France and Italy play in the Challenge Cup. The teams in this competition are from the Aviva Premiership, France Top 14 and Europe’s Pro12. 20 teams will qualify with 6 from the Premiership, 7 from the Top 14, 5 from Scotland, Ireland, Wales and Italy and 2 from other European competitions (Italy and Russia).

20 teams will qualify for the 2015–16 European Rugby Challenge Cup, a total of 18 will qualify from across the Aviva Premiership, Guinness Pro12 and Top 14, as a direct result of their domestic league performance, with two coming through a play-off.